Just another WordPress.com weblog

100 Day Challenge – 2016

I have been thinking about this since I first posted. There were several things I was considering doing on a daily basis – meditating for 5 minutes, walking at least 5 miles, or working  in the garden or the loft.  However, the way things have been around here lately, I don’t think I can commit to doing something on a daily basis.

Then I thought  about doing something weekly – reading a book from my shelves, working an hour in the garden, spending an hour  going through saved sites/recipes/projects/blogs on my laptop, working on my job search for an hour or working for an hour on creative projects. All of these are things I need to do but none of them are really appealing at this time.

I finally decided that  for the next 100 days I’m going to focus on decluttering and getting rid of things.  I’m feeling overwhelmed by the number of things I could be working on and I’ve decided I need to make some decisions about what projects I’m really going to commit to and which I need to let go of.  Also there is just a ton of stuff that I don’t really use or need and I’m ready to let go of it.  For this 100 day challenge I will get rid of at least 100 items by December 31, 2016.

I hope you will consider playing along and leave a comment below to tell what you are going to work on for the last 100 days of 2016. I will post an update on my progress each week and you can leave a comment to let me know how your challenge is going as well.  I look forward to reading your comments and cheering you on.

Comments on: "100 Day Challenge – 2016" (2)

  1. I’ve definitely decided to interview my Mom — once a week – and write up the family history anecdotes that she tells me about. I’m too slow a typist to type the stories while she talks, so today I got my daughter to show me how to record the conversations. That way I’ll be able to transcribe them later that week, at my slow pace. So, once a week I hope to have a story typed up. I haven’t started any interviews yet …

    Also, I am going to try to file, or deal with, 100 pieces of paperwork. Even if it’s just glancing through bills and making sure they’ve been dealt with, and then discarded or filed. The ever-growing pile of ‘stuff” on my desk is making me despondent. I’m keeping a tally of the pieces of paper I’ve dealt with.

    I’m glad we’re here to spur one another along!

    • It will definitely be a treasure to have those memories to look back on. I wish I had recorded some of my mom’s stories. It is hard to remember all the details as I try to relate them to my kids.

      I’ve been going through files as well, purging outdated or duplicated info – another never ending task.

      Can’t wait to see your progress report on Friday!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

