Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tidbit Tuesday

Just another unedited/sloppy installment of the random thoughts rolling around in my head today…

The plan was to go shopping for new glasses today but that got postponed when school was closed due to icy conditions. We’ll try again next week – yes “we” – I made plans to go with a friend because I need someone to help me follow through. I make plans but the follow through is hit or miss so I’m trying to get help wherever I can.

Yesterday I spent over 3 hours at the hospital with the boy. He decided he wants to try out for the school soccer team and he needed a physical. The school provided a physical during which he told the examiner that he coughs, has shortness of breath and chest pains when he exercises. She calls me to ask about it and I’m clueless because I’ve never seen that happen and he has never said anything. She says it is probably exercise induced asthma but could possibly be a heat problem. There are new guidelines in place and in order for him to be cleared for sports he will have to have an exam with a pediatric cardiologist. So we head to Childrens Hospital. While there, I discover that this has been going on for several years and he has said nothing about it!  They find nothing wrong during the EKG but want to do another test, the Transthoracic Echo. That shows no problem so he is cleared for sports. Next we have to see if he is just out of condition or has exercise induced asthma. There is never a dull moment with this boy.

I may be headed back to the dentist soon. I’m afraid I might  crack a tooth with all the clenching and grinding I’m doing lately. The cat is constantly jumping on the counters and  I’m finding myself yelling at him to get down and then either clenching my jaw or grinding my teeth as I go to get him and move him away. The hubby says to spray him with water but it just seems cruel. Anyone out there have a successful method for keeping the cat off the counter??

I had a little excitement here when I set a couple of corn tortillas on fire while trying to toast them in my toaster oven. I wasn’t thinking and opened the door to get them out and of course that really caused them to flare up. I couldn’t get to the fire extinguisher because of the flames and ran upstairs to get one from up there. By the time I got it out of the box and got back downstairs the fire was almost out and there were a couple of piles of ashes to clean up.

All in all, it has been quite interesting around here. Hope all is good in your neck of the woods. Until next time, have a great day.

Comments on: "Tidbit Tuesday" (1)

  1. Oh my word. What a dose of excitement you’ve been having. So glad the boy’s heart is all fine. What a worrying time it must have been at Children’s.
    We used to do the quick-spray-with-water thingy when our cats would jump on the countertops. I don’t know if that helped entirely (it did deter them), or whether it was just them growing out of cat adolescence that did the trick!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

