Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fitness Friday

Last year’s first goal was to walk between 3,650,000 and 5,000,000 steps. My final total for the year was 5,034,294. I made a strong push at the end because I wasn’t sure how much walking I’d be able to do with the holidays and our getaway. It paid off because I reached 5 million on 12/29/14.  I did at least 10,00 steps on 327/365 days(89%) and over 13,700 steps on 207/365 days(56%).  This year I am going to try for a minimum of 12,000 steps per day and a stretch of 14,000 steps per day.

Last year’s other goal was to swim between 26,000 and 52,000 meters. I did not even come close with a total of 3200 meters for the year. I wanted to do more swimming last year but putting a distance on really brought out my resistance and did not work for me. I am working on how to get myself motivated to get to the pool more often but I’m not going to make it a goal for the year.

I’ve been doing my short yoga/stretching routine at least once every day and I’ve been trying out some weight training exercises. For cardio I did  some roller skating with the boy, some bowling with the family and a 15 minute ride on the stationary bike. I’m going slow and hopefully by the end of the month I will have developed the habit of doing some kind of exercise most days. Then next month, I can add more time each day.

How did your fitness goals go last year? Are you working on anything for this year. Leave a comment and let me know what you are doing to stay active this year.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

