Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fitness Friday

Today I am at 4,954,683 steps, so barring any strange unforeseen events I should definitely make my goal of 5 million steps this year! I am very pleased with myself. I wasn’t sure if I would be able to make it at different points in the year but I kept plugging away and now I’m almost there.

Since I haven’t found an exercise that I like and want to commit to doing regularly, I think I’m going to go with a time goal for next year. First I need to develop the habit of doing something every day. I am walking every day but I’d like to add some yoga or stretching in the morning and/or evening.  I’d also like to add in some kind of cardio and weight training on alternating days.

I’m going to start very small because I am  still really reluctant to add this to my day. I will just try to do two and a half minutes every day of yoga/stretching and two and a half minutes  six times a week of cardio/ weight training. I know that many people will think I should push myself more but that has backfired in the past so I’m going to try it differently this time around. By the end of the year, I’d like to be doing 30 minutes of some kind of exercise six days a week.

Next week I will be trying out snowboarding – we are headed out to the local ski resort for a few days. Hubby will be skiing, the girl will be snowboarding and the boy and I will do some tubing and take a snowboarding lesson. There is also an indoor pool, bowling and roller skating for us to try when we get tired of the slopes.

Anybody want to share their fitness goals? Please leave a comment,I’d love to know how you did this year and what you are doing for next year.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

