Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fitness Friday

UGH! Yet another year where I do not reach my fitness goals(well, actually I do think I will reach my step goal but the swimming goals are definitely not happening). There has to be some underlying reason that is keeping me from getting there but what is it? Or should I say what are they? I know part of my resistance is anger – anger that the body that used to never gain weight has changed, anger that I feel deprived of my favorite foods, anger at other people’s expectations.

Of course another part of it is lifestyle. I am a rather sedentary person, my favorite hobbies involve sitting – whether that is at a computer, reading books, doing handwork or paying bills for my husband’s business. I do love my daily walks but they aren’t exactly vigorous.

Another factor is that I’ve never felt particularly athletic and still struggle with feeling uncoordinated and awkward. I’ve tried several different things but none of them have kept me interested enough to want to do it on a regular basis.

I still harbor the secret hope that just walking more would be enough. The truth is  that if I don’t change my eating habits, I’m never going to make a move towards better health. They always say you can’t out train a bad diet and I’m finally beginning to believe it. I need to come up with a plan to shake things up, one that makes small sustainable moves towards a better lifestyle.

What is one thing you do that helps to keep you fit? I’d love to hear it – please share!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

