Just another WordPress.com weblog

Space – One Word 2014

I chose space as my one word for this year.  As I wrote at the beginning of the year —

I want to finally finish my space – the loft where I have been slowly clearing stuff out and thinking of how to set it  up for my purposes. I want to make space in my closets, on my shelves, in my project containers and elsewhere. I want to create space in my schedule for creative pursuits, for reading, for self-care activities and family. I want to create a space that is peaceful, loving and restorative for my family to come home to.

I have made some progress – the loft is almost clear of stuff that doesn’t belong to me. There are definite areas set up so I can exercise, read, sew, quilt, scrapbook and do other creative activities. I’ve cleaned out my winter wardrobe and have more closet and shelf space. I’m working on creating space in my schedule – I need to remember that I cleared time for me and not give it away to others. I’m still working on what a peaceful/loving/restorative home  means and looks  to us as a family. Not everyone agrees and I want to try to honor each of us in some way. It’s a work in progress.

Did you choose a word for this year?  What kind of progress have you made – please share in the comments.

 

Comments on: "Space – One Word 2014" (3)

  1. I think my word for the year would be writing. I’m studying a writing course and I told myself that I’d work hard at writing the whole year. Got to keep up with that!

    • Are you interested in fiction or nonfiction or both? My daughter is studying literary arts as her major in high school. Her favorite is poetry.

      • I’m more at home in the non-fiction world but I love fiction and would like to write short stories. I’m hoping to do poetry as one of my subjects. Hope I like it as much as your daughter.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

