Just another WordPress.com weblog

My ONE WORD Update

As I mentioned last month, I have chosen to focus on one word this year. My word is HEALTH. In January I focused on my sleeping habits. The goal was to have a relaxing routine that prepared me for bed by 10 pm each night so that I could wake refreshed and ready to go at 6 am each morning.
In some respects it was a success – I did make it to bed by 10pm 23 out of 31 days and I spent 8 hours in bed 26 days. However, there were only 6 days that I woke up refreshed and ready to go. I did awaken by 6 am 23 days but for most of those days, I laid in bed listening to the radio and huddling under the covers.

My quality of sleep was not good and I need to do better at preparing for bed. I still need to be consistent in doing a relaxing routine before bed. Also I need to make some adjustments to my bedroom in terms of light coming in the room.

This month I will continue with developing the prebed routine. There will be no computer or tv after 9 pm, I will take a bath or shower and read a bit before heading off to bed for the night. I have some material to make coverings for the windows and hope to get DH to trim the doors. Otherwise I will have to move his chair so when he reads at night I’m not bothered by the light.

How did you do with your January goal??

Comments on: "My ONE WORD Update" (2)

  1. Have you tried taking Magnesium supplements? I have heard many people mention that it helps w sleep (400 mg/day). And, a co-worker said her doctor told her to try it, too. I think I’ll give it a go, too.

    • I haven’t tried any kind of supplements because I never know if they are going to react with my thyroid meds. I know there are some that I shouldn’t take but I have no idea what I can take.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

