Just another WordPress.com weblog

MUMday

Measure up Monday – How am I doing on my goals??

This week I’m looking at my progress towards 5 million steps by December 31, 2012 and the picture is not pretty. I have gone a total of 3,670, 719 steps so far this year. That averages out to 12154 steps per day. It also means that I have 1,329,281 steps to go. With only 63 days left in the year, I would need to do 21,200 steps everyday to make my target. I just don’t think that will happen.

When I started, I figured that January, February, November and December would have low totals due to weather restraints. I thought I would be able to make up for it with longer daily walks through spring, summer and fall. Instead I injured my knee during boot camp which set me back and I haven’t been able to  recover any ground.

I can definitely make it to 4 million and I think I can hit 4.5 million. I will keep trying to hit 5 million but it will be a stretch to get there. It was a stetch goal for me and overall I am pleased with my progress. I know I would have done much less without the challenge.

I may try to do some mall walking now that the weather is getting so yucky. I don’t like to do that – it means unnecessary driving and it brings temptation into my day – but I do like the way I feel after I walk.

Hope you manage to stay warm and safe during this stormy time.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

