Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fitness Friday

UGH!  My weight is up even more – now I need to lose 9.2 lbs. Almost as much as when I started this journey last January.

step average for the week  14,317  Need to bump this up if I am going to reach 5 million this year.

Too much birthday cake and junk food combined with too  little exercise and a lot of sitting in front of the computer. I haven’t been walking with my friends – one has been sick and the other is back and forth helping out with her daughter who has breast cancer. Without them to spur me on, my walks have gotten very short and that has to change.

I can’t depend on friends or great weather or any motivational technique – I just need to get out there and start doing something everyday. Commit to a time and then do something – walk, yoga, jump rope, ride a bike, ab work, calisthenics anything! More movement is what I need.

Of course part of the problem has been another bout of the ever recurring depression I suffer from/with. Not sure what has started off this time but I am back in the struggle. I seem to be always hungry, I’m sleeping too much and I havelittle to no energy or desire to do anything. I know what I need to do but it just seems like too much work. Maybe I need to see about changing my medication or talking to someone, but it is so hard for me to take those steps. I’ve been down this road before and feel like I should be able to snap out of it without help but  that isn’t happening.

The weekend will see me getting off to a good start with a plan for daily exercise.  On Saturday I’m taking DD and a few friends to the mall. They are going to look for dresses for the 8th grade dance and I am going to walk around the mall while I wait for them. Then on Sunday we are going to bike to the baseball game. Need to make a plan for Monday – will see if anyone can walk or do something else. Then just keep on doing a little something everyday.

What are you doing to keep yourself fit and healthy?

Comments on: "Fitness Friday" (2)

  1. I feel compelled to comment because I think you need to hear this! Struggling with depression is hard. It’s the worst. It comes and goes as it pleases and sometimes at the strangest times. It can and will sabotage your life if left untreated. There is no shame in taking all the steps you need to to get it under control! Not only will you feel a million times better and be able to do all the things you want to do, but you will be more available to those who love you and rely on you! I know you know this stuff, but sometimes it takes an outsider to repete it to you. Do it for yourself! You deserve it!

    • sixbysixty said:

      Thanks for the encouragement. I guess I’m just tired of it coming back. It would be nice to have it gone forever but that isn’t the case for me. I need to do a better job with preventive medicine/habits/activities – one of which should be daily exercise of some kind. Hope you have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

