Just another WordPress.com weblog

Goal – $250,000

So far, I haven’t written about my savings goal.  The goal is $250,000 in savings by the time I’m 60. I know there should be a lot more in there but it doesn’t seem likely to happen. We have spent and will continue to spend quite a bit on our house. We made the decision to have a large space and we are trying to use it to the best of our ability. We continue to add fruits and vegetables which saves some money at the grocery store.

Anyway, we have $114508.12 in various retirement accounts and $6042.28 in our emergency fund. I need/want to put more in both but it is a struggle. That means we are almost half way to the goal – as long as the stock market doesn’t crash, everyone stays healthy, there are no major disasters, etc. Need to think positive!

I can’t count on interest or growth and can only hope for no losses. With that in mind, to reach the goal we would need to invest $11364 each year. A rather huge sum – in fact it seems unattainable, but I still need to try.

 I try to save money in a variety of ways but I think I need to find a way to make money. I’ve read a few books about starting a home business but they weren’t really helpful. I don’t have an idea for a product to sell, I’m not talented enough to make and sell crafts and I really don’t want to go back to working for someone else. I like choosing when and how much work to do. Will need to keep thinking, reading and observing to find something that might work for me.

Comments on: "Goal – $250,000" (1)

  1. I think that’s very impressive – as you say – you’re half-way there already. I know how you can save a bit more – get your dh to turn down your thermostat to 69F in winter!!??

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

