Just another WordPress.com weblog

Galapagos Update

I was planning that the trip to the Galapagos Islands would be the culminating activity for my 6 by sixty goals.  I have wanted to go for quite some time but wanted to be able to take my time and see as much as I could. That meant saving enough money and being able to take the time to do it. 

A friend(thanks, J) gave me a recent article from Time Magazine that has me wondering about my plans. The article discusses the problems the area is having because of the effects of tourism and population growth. The article has me wondering if  I should move my trip up or consider not taking it.

I don’t  know if I could move it up too much. Cost is a factor and also family demands would have  to be considered also. I think it could be a great family experience but I’m not sure anyone else would want to go. Of course, if it was a family experience that would increase the cost.

But, should I even go, knowing that things are deteriorating? Should I be content with just reading about the area and perhaps watching documentaries? Are there even any documentaries out there?? I guess I need to do some research and discuss things with my family before I make any decisions. I’ll have to take some time and think things over.

Comments on: "Galapagos Update" (1)

  1. I’ve know almost since I first met you (ten years ago – time flies!) that you’ve dreamed of going to the Galapagos. It would be a pity to have to reconsider that goal. Not an easy decision to make, especially with yours, and the Islands’, time constraints. Don’t give up on the dream too soon, though. I wonder if there are any blogs about other adventurous souls who have visited the Galapagos?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

